Skip to content

Good Bones

November 24, 2016

Paintings come and paintings go and sometimes they stick around much longer than you would like.  I still do believe that every painting I have painted is just waiting for the right owner.  Some paintings that I was never quite happy with have stuck around for more than five years only to be sold to a person that simply falls in love.  It is these kind of experiences that have led me to believe that every painting would eventually find a home but it is tough and often impossible to keep them hanging around, taking up space in an already crowded studio.

There does not appear to be any sense as to why one painting finds a home quickly and another does not.  I have pieces that I feel have accomplished exactly what I was after, that have been in show after show but still remain in my possession.  It is a struggle to know when to ‘get rid’ of the hang overs 🙂  An artist doesn’t like to ‘get rid’ of a painting that has good bones.

Not having gone to a formal art school I am missing the concepts and many of the conventions and rules of art making.  Because of this it seems quite easy for me to simply paint over or redesign an existing painting…. one that I feel has good bones.  I have been doing this quite a bit lately with some success.  It seems a renewal of an older painting does jump out and speak to others…not just myself.

My favourite reworks of late have been on paintings where I feel the sky is working.  I generally am happy with the majority of the landscape but they just aren’t finding homes. I have taken to painting florals over top of the skies.  Lofty, mystical, meditative.  I am trying to keep the paintings light and magical, a place where a person can ‘rest’ their eyes.

Here are some examples:

The latest attempt at renewal is over a very stormy sky which is something new for me:

I am not entirely sure that I have finished this little experiment but as you can see good bones are something to build onto 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April permalink
    November 25, 2016 12:33 am

    Yes, they are. Keep channeling that energy. The ones who are guided to it, will arrive. xo

  2. Doug E. Lachance permalink
    November 25, 2016 12:42 am

    Hi Carolynn,

    After so many years I still have the beautiful piece you did for me of the White Rock Pier in wintertime and love it just as much now as then.

    Best always,

    Doug <l:)

  3. November 25, 2016 10:57 pm

    Thanks April and Doug for your encouragement. Means a lot and keeps me painting!

Leave a Reply

