Skip to content

The Less Said

June 19, 2016

It was just over a year ago now that I had my art hanging in a show with several fine artists.  The artist whose work was hanging next to mine, whose work I find quite accomplished, blurted from the relative silence “I don’t want to paint another dumb painting”.  I remember thinking at the time that I too was against painting another ‘dumb’ painting.  I have thought about her revelation on and off …as if to remind myself the ‘dumb’ paintings have to be out of the question.  Problem is, I feel like I keep producing paintings that are missing the mark, bordering on dumb perhaps.  What mark, I have yet to entirely understand but feel a slight glimmer is feeding the hope that for the next while ‘dumb’ will be involved with the past tense.

A tension is created when your art is well received and patrons describe to you how much they love having a piece of your art or how emotionally uplifting they might find a certain painting, when your heart is feeling that you haven’t quite grasped something….something is missing.  I do believe that this is what my fellow artist was referring to as a ‘dumb’ painting.  A painting in which the artist themselves feels that some unknown has yet to be reached. This unknown,  I might add is most likely  different for every artist. I am coming to believe that it is this unknown that keeps any visual artist, musician, actor, any creative person,  moving forward in search for answers.

So, to the Less Said….Of late, I have been reading up on and putting my brush to some Abstract Expressionism.  I have not shown any of my work to anyone because it is so different from what they are used to seeing from my brush.  The direction this investigation is taking me is to a place where I am beginning to see that what is NOT said in a painting or drawing is just as important as what IS said.  For instance, one DOES NOT need to fill the ENTIRE canvas…..in opposition to my devil of a kindergarten teacher 🙂  What one needs to do is make the lines count, the hue count, the value count, with the less said the better!  The struggle here is to say enough but not too much=balance.  To leave some work for the voyeur.  Sounds like life, right?

One day I may just become brave enough to show this side of my art 🙂  I will keep you posted….

3 Comments leave one →
  1. valeriesk permalink
    June 20, 2016 12:55 am

    Irving Layton (I think) said a great poet writes twelve great poems in a lifetime. There’s an analogy here. If you weren’t striving you probably wouldn’t be answering the need to be creative. Another art critic, Greenberg, said “art disrupts consciousness; entertainment fulfills expectation.” I’m pretty sure he wrote a lot of other brilliant stuff. Maybe you’re seeking to disrupt some aspect of consciousness.

    Thanks for the post. Reminds me to read more about art, again. VM

    • June 20, 2016 4:31 am

      Well said Greenberg….the creation of art is either a disruption of an aspect of consciousness or it is an act in support of the soul striving to be heard through the ‘gaps’ in the stream of consciousness. My jury is still out 🙂 The consideration of it all is almost more than enough….

  2. sandydelehantyartist permalink
    June 21, 2016 2:52 am

    Still looking for an in-dumb painting and enjoying the journey, good to hear from you, Sandy

Leave a Reply

