Skip to content

The World Of Instagram

March 20, 2016

Anyone that knows me well knows of my aversion to social media.  It has become a part of my life for the sole purpose of a marketing tool for my art work.  I have not embraced it and have gone forward into its depths kicking and screaming 🙂  I have been encouraged by people I trust of the value of these media and have put my faith in their belief in this system of engagement with the masses.  I have to say that until now I haven’t seen any concrete benefits to the marketing and selling of art and have begrudged the time it takes out of my painting life to be a contributor.  I am also not happy with how I am becoming a ‘phone checker’.

One of my sons was over a few weeks back and suggested I add Instagram to my repertoire.  I had heard this advice once before from my good friend who has been instrumental in the development of my website.  I had ignored her advice but didn’t exactly get the chance to ignore my son’s.  He simply picked up my phone, asked me a few questions and voila…I was signed up.  I asked him what I was to do with this and he suggested I begin posting my painting life.  Hmmmm…I thought.  Something more to keep on top of.  I began this journey by posting the tools of my trade…

Tools Of The Trade

Tools Of The Trade

To my surprise 5 people looked at the photo (not exactly this photo but the one I posted is stuck in instagram and I don’t know how to move it to a blog, ha)….5 people I do not know.  With that photo I wrote Labor omina vincit – Virgil’s Georgics- Steady work conquers all things.  The treatise for every diligent artist.

I thought this was interesting so I decided to post a few of my daily paintings in progress.  That was well received bringing with it more views and comments.  Comments from ‘real’ artists.  Artists from around the world.

Through the exposure to this instagram process I have come to realize the artistic brilliance of mankind.  Doesn’t matter where we are from, what our preferred medium is, the pure talent ‘out there’ is nothing short of miraculous.  I have renewed my appreciation for photography, how food is arranged on a plate, how flowers find themselves in the most unique of vases.  I have laughed at the subway dogs of NYC, been in awe of a painter from Iceland, looked into the eyes of a baby pig somewhere in the middle of our continent.  I have received comments that have given me cause to continue my craft and gave advice to a young mother /artist struggling to keep ‘it’ going with her new found life….just find 1/2 hour a day I told her.

My favourite though is checking out artists as they view my posts while the Nike swoosh comes to mind….Just Do It.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

