Skip to content

Relinquishing Control

November 9, 2015

I recently painted a small painting for the Dailypaintworks Auction site that I belong to.  The title of this painting is Relinquishing Control.  Here it is:

Relinquishing Control

I gave the little painting this title because when I look at laundry gently blowing in the wind, I feel a sense of loftiness, freedom and the uncontrollable urge to float.  I know that I am not alone in this.  I know this because of the number of comments I have had on DPW when I post paintings of laundry on a line.  For most of us the image lends itself to childhood memories either of our mothers or grandmothers.  Memories that have softened with time but are no less attractive to a busy and impatient mind.  I have chosen to include this in my post today because I believe the title placed on the painting and the image and memories that go with it are important to all of us.

The last several weeks…and I mean several…I have been agonizing about the fact that my painting style is not ‘fitting in’ to the desire today for many of the market buyers.  For the most part the market seems to be wanting bold, edgy, colourful, abstracts.  My painting for the most part lends itself to reflection.  It is quiet, soft with a muted palette.  Even when I am painting florals I am out to portray the mystical side of life and often I do have a hidden meaning…for myself at least.  I have been agonizing because I have had two big art shows in the last few weeks and I knew that many if not most of the artists involved are abstract painters with the afore mentioned bent.  My dear friends…you know the ones, the ones that are my personal coaches…have heard me whining about the doom and gloom of likely not painting what the market wants.

So, after much reflection and advice from fellow artist friends, including the abstract painters I might add, I decided to stick to what I FEEL and not try to paint for others.  Well, the moral of the story is: after deciding to follow my heart and to listen to David Bayles and Ted Orland who wrote Art and Fear…The viewers job is whatever it is: to be moved by art, to be entertained by it, to make a killing off of it…Your job (mine in this case) is to learn to work on your work.  Period.  The rest is not your concern.  They also say “The best you can do is make art you care about – and lots of it”!!

I am in.

As it turns out I did extremely well at this last show and not so bad at the one before.  All that worrying for nothing.  What does this tell me?? 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

