Skip to content

Focus On The Good..AKA…Cup Half Full

April 21, 2015

There really isn’t anything better than the warm ocean breeze on a sunny day, brush in hand.  Save of course, experiencing the moment with a good friend.  When I close my eyes and envision the whole experience, a smile comes to my face.

The day was wonderful, the paintings not that great but the memory is grand.  Here are the two little paintings that my brush produced after so many weeks of not being used.

 

Mt Baker From Mud Bay            Flats Mud Bay

Mt Baker from Mud Bay                               Mud Bay Flats

At first I was disappointed in the paintings.  I like the top half of the Mt Baker piece but the water isn’t quite right.  The morning was very hazy and bright at the same time and I was unable, in such a short time, to resolve the water in the mid section of the painting.  The painting seems split in two in some respects.  As for the flats, I am happy with most of the little painting but it doesn’t seem to have enough darks grounding those trees.  I will have to remember that next time 🙂

Although the little paintings may seem wanting I am choosing to see the cup half full…..a good attempt after a prolonged absence, a day in the sun with a friend (actually two friends because her lovely dog came along for the day) and a return to doing something I love to do.  Couldn’t be much better than that.

Maybe my cup is actually 3/4 full, ha.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Doug E. Lachance permalink
    April 22, 2015 1:49 am

    Hi Carolynn,

    I’m glad you’re well.

    I live on The Drive at Venables and Commercial and I’d enjoy getting together for a beverage sometime. (I still have the painting you did of the winter scene of the pier that we made into Christmas card limited editions.)

    Best

    Doug E <l:)

    PS. A glass 3/4 full is good!

  2. Beckie Saar Leone permalink
    April 22, 2015 5:24 pm

    I have LOVED your posts about your moving process. Being in the same boat, both my sister & I have read everyone and been able to relate in a big way. As my sister put it, “we are doing the same thing, Carolynn is just better at putting it into words than we are”. I second the comment. Therefore, I could not let it go by without telling you how much you have meant to us. Now that you are back to painting, I am truly happy for you. I think both the paintings are beautiful. Good for YOU!

    • April 22, 2015 5:39 pm

      Nice to hear from you Beckie. Such kind words.
      Yes, the moving process is formidable but the adventure that ensues is well worth the effort! What we must keep reminding ourselves is that change isn’t as bad as our minds would have us believe :))

Leave a Reply

