Skip to content

Round Three

March 19, 2015
tags: ,

I am sitting at the computer in my eerily empty studio.  I can hear the ticking of my cuckoo clock but other than that the place feels like a tomb.  All that physically remains is my large easel, my stool, my small storage cabinet and ….me.  As I look around, my mind is filled with wonderful memories of joy, sweat and yes, sometimes tears.

There is a certain energy that inhabits places where the creative mind has spent some time.  It might be a lab, a sewing room, a classroom, a studio.  I have been fortunate enough to spend time in all of these spaces and there is a common denominator threading its way from wall to wall.   A certain energy about the place.   This energy cannot be named but for those of us spending time in such spaces,  existence is all too familiar.  It is the backbone of our addictions.

As I sit here in silence I find my rational mind wondering “what next?”.  My fears of never finding another space quite like this one, arise out of nowhere but my little ‘voice’ knows better.  I tell myself that a space must be found as I have just had a client purchase six of my large paintings.  They leave me, telling me they are looking for more when I have finished them….  Finished them….they are but a seed in my mind.

Back to the real world for heaven sake.  Packing, cleaning, lifting, moving to storage…..aching muscles 🙂  All in the name of our only constant…..change.  On to round three, the last push, the head has crowned 🙂 12 more sleeps.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ajbel permalink
    March 19, 2015 6:02 pm

    Hello Carolynn, Not only is your art spectacular, your writing is as well. I love your expression and style. How accomplished you are! I remember back when you were just about to begin your “blog”….you were nervous and anxious….and excited. Thank you for sharing so much of yourself. It is not an easy thing to do, but I suspect it has been therapeutic for you also. Brian and I are so sorry that we were not able to attend your studio showing and sale. We think of you often and send our love and best wishes as your personal journey continues. With great admiration, Alicia and Brian

    Date: Thu, 19 Mar 2015 16:32:35 +0000 To: alicia_hagerman541@hotmail.com

  2. March 20, 2015 12:09 am

    Thanks so much Alicia for your kind comments….means a lot. One thing about the journey is …..it is never, ever boring.

Leave a Reply

