Skip to content

Love

February 14, 2015
tags:

Oh….Love is a many splendored thing!

Our collective tradition for this day is to honour our partner.  But what for the many who, for one reason or another, are without a partner to honour.  What then?

I was thinking yesterday about what this day really could mean.  I was contemplating what love really means to me…in all of its’ splendour.  I was thinking about who I have loved, what I have loved and how these facets of love have changed over the years.  When you really start making lists in your mind….and boy am I good at making lists….you begin with the obvious.  Love of family, friends, pets….a job, perhaps even your brushes.  If you really let your list have its way with you, you end up with a ginormous accumulation, no….realization, that love is in the air, it is everywhere.

To the family and friends list you can add the sunrise, the smile of a baby, a dew drop as it is about to release itself from the tip of a leaf.   A spiders work when touched by fog, the smell of a forest, the wind in a ripe field of wheat.  Or how about the sounds of your favourite tunes…. the colour of cadmium red light.    Maybe it is your old truck or the sound of the surf hitting the shore.  How about the city at night when quiet hits the streets and the lights from neighbouring apartments brings knowing…. that you are indeed, not alone.  A favourite for me is when my painting rises up to meet my vision for it….I simply love when that happens.

If we take time to stop and think, listen with our hearts,  we begin to realize that we are all in love….

So my suggestion for this day is to take some time to honour all of the loves of our lives.  We are so very fortunate to have them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie permalink
    February 15, 2015 1:15 am

    I love you, cousin Carolynn, and the lovely paintings you create and the beautiful thoughts you share : )

  2. February 15, 2015 2:51 am

    Back at you Marie.

Leave a Reply

