Skip to content

Out of the Ashes

December 4, 2014

When I was young, I shared a room with my older sister.  Our room was small with two twin beds sitting parallel to one another, separated by a very small channel.  The tunnel of my imagination as I see it now.

I was a pretty shy child, did not like noise much and liked spending time alone….alone with my imagination in tow.  There were six of us in the family and in a very small bungalow, it was difficult to find a place where one could find quiet and be alone.  I often created that solitary space between the beds.  I would make a little tent using the chenille bed spreads, cloaked from one bed to the other.  It was a dark little space full of comfort and possibilities.  A flashlight often accompanied me….one that glowed with colours of red, green or yellow.   Santa gave me this little treasure,  for whatever reason, I do not know.  Guess ‘he’ knew that I liked coloured lights.  I wasn’t much of a reader back then so I spent most of my time conjuring up stories in my mind, wondering the whys and wherefore of things and playing music with any semi musical instrument I could lay my hands on….a small tin horn in the shape of a saxophone comes to mind 🙂

This story is leading somewhere….honest.

Fast forward to today….I have possibly the nicest studio space in 10 square miles.  Well, at least I think it is.  It is full of light, it is large enough to handle all that I throw at it and it is mine.  Thing is, I have sold the house that holds the studio.  Change is inevitable, right?  I have been heart sick about leaving my space…the space loved by me and pretty much anyone that enters it. I need to shake up my life, a little or a lot and that means a move to downtown.  A vibrant place with limitless possibilities.

So, picture yourself standing on the edge of a cliff, you have taken the leap and you are in free fall….this is my life at the moment.  I am hoping that I land on my feet and not my head but who the h…knows.  Anything is possible.  What I do know is that the anxiety over the perfect studio in my new adventure has taken a turn, for I read a quote last night that harkened me back to my childhood and that little tunnel where my imagination went wild.  It read; “You need a room with no view so memory can meet imagination in the dark”  Annie Dillard.  Ah hah, I thought….maybe what I need is a little dark hole in the wall where the three characters present are me, myself and I.

So, there it is.  One can only hope that out of the ashes the phoenix will rise.  Meanwhile, downsizing is in order and painting when I can.  Three commissions to go before the big move, then who knows.  It is quite exciting really and I can feel my body turning and my feet moving towards the earth :))

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Pat permalink
    December 4, 2014 8:46 pm

    Having just seen this little video this morning, it is what came to mind when I read your post. Take heart!

    http://www.bbc.com/earth/story/20141020-chicks-tumble-of-terror-filmed

  2. April permalink
    December 6, 2014 12:50 am

    You’ll be fine, I know it. J

    April White

Leave a Reply

