Skip to content

The Great Unknown

October 3, 2014

Yet again, I find myself standing on the edge of the cliff of the unknown. Or, maybe it is the edge of a gang plank that I am standing on, being asked to take a  leap and not knowing whether I will sink or swim.

To set the stage: I have had my house for sale on and off for the last year and a half.  It is a traditional house with a beautiful studio, kitchen and lots of living area set before a view of the sea.  The traditional style seems to be the stumbling block for any potential buyers.  It is because of this that I have been asked by the real estate agent to come up with something to give the house a more ‘modern’ appeal upon entering.  I have been asked to place a large red rug at the front entrance and on the feature wall, a large, abstract  painting.  The painting is suppose to take your breath away when you enter and the potential buyers are suppose to say ‘wow’ …..out loud or silently I am not sure.  Oh, and I forgot to mention, the painting needs to be in a WARM RED.  It might be said…..you have got to be kidding me?

Now, if any of you have looked at my website lately, it will be obvious to you that I am simply not an abstract painter.  I have studied the abstract approach somewhat and have been intrigued by the development of many famous artists from the realistic to the impressionistic to the abstract but my brush has never taken me there.  I have dreamt about the possibilities of letting my brush explore in that direction but have yet to summon the courage to do so.  I simply don’t know if I have what it takes….especially if it takes WOW!

And, did I mention that it must be crafted in red?  So, to me red symbols; force, anger, first chakra issues, power….possibly wow :)  The nature of the clients buying houses in my neighbourhood is the reason for the red focus.  This however is unlikely encouragement because the painting that appears to be coming out of me is decidedly full of North American First Nations symbols.  I wonder if that is going to be a problem….is that supporting the WOW factor.

I have a habit of giving my paintings their title even before I lay my brush down and this painting was no different.  The title, as it stands, is “A Distant Memory”.  The title is definitely directing the development of the painting but I have a serious problem with it.  The problem is the red….

I have painted only one predominantly red painting and that is the Colours of Nice Market….a painting of red peppers at the amazing market in Nice, France.  This is my second.  Experience in red….I do not have.  I began this painting with Quin Burnt Orange, Transparent Red Oxide and Phthalo Blue…in Acrylic, just to ease my way in :)  I have now added some Pyrrole Red Scarlet and am with that, being forced into unknown territory.  It is actually so very stressful.

I am reminded of a quote from a personal hero of mine “If at first the idea is not absurd, then there is no hope for it”  Albert Einstein.

Onward….will keep you posted and wish me luck!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

