Skip to content

16 Entries

October 3, 2014

Today is my sixteenth day of posting on the Daily Paintworks site. It has been a very interesting experience for me. I have learned a lot and continue to be in awe of the technical knowledge and help of the site managers.

At first glance one might think that the whole process has not been a success for me but that would be if they measured SUCCESS simply by sales of art work. I have had amazing comments and emails from artists and non artists alike. They have been very supportive of ‘life as I see it’. That, to me, counts for something. I am not sure that increased sales of my art will ever come. It is hard to know what else a person can do, save move to the USA :)

One stumbling block for we Canadian artists just might be what we are forced to charge for postage of sold items. The cost for shipping within the US are very, very reasonable but here in Canada, it is a different story. This might just have something to do with interest in buying. If you live in Britain for instance, for every piece you might buy at $60, you are looking at a minimum $20 postage fee tacked on to the cost of the art. A larger 12″ x 16″ , uninsured piece mind you, will cost you $50 for shipping. Ouch!

That being said, shipping for a piece of art that you will love for the rest of your days, might just be in order. Maybe it is a small price to pay for a treasure. Beats the prices you will pay in a gallery…..right?

Wish me luck! Maybe I won’t need it :)

OMINA LABOR

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

