Skip to content

Circumstance

June 14, 2014

To remind ourselves, the loose definition of the Tao is:

The philosophical system evolved by Lao-tzu and Chuang-tzu, advocating a life of complete simplicity and naturalness and of non interference with the course of natural events, in order to attain a happy existence in harmony with the way, the path, the route.  In other words, the Tao.

It is said that the Tao signifies the primordial essence or fundamental nature of the universe, that it is eternally nameless but named things are manifested by us through it.  The Knowing is not expressible by words and it’s principles are discerned by observing Nature.  It must be said here, that every philosophy has it’s own Tao, it’s own belief in ‘the way’ in which life should be ordered.  Funny thing is, the nature of the Tao is all about flow, namelessness, non obstruction and the ability to live a life, our path, by action and doing that cannot be expressed by words/language.  This is contrary to the linear nature of most religions and philosophies.

Daily, we all find ways to get ourselves on the linear path to goals set.  By doing so we are limiting the natural flow of a life.  I am not sure how one lives a life in the ‘real’ world where goals appear to be as necessary as our next meal or a good nights sleep but I suspect that the obsessive nature of the lives we choose can interfere with the flow we seek.  This is where the circumstance comes to light.

My husband and I had decided to do the Camino de Santiago in 2011 but circumstance changed that goal, that desire and that dream was put on the shelf.  I have often thought about ‘going’ it alone but have been unable to find the courage to do so.  I am not even exactly sure why the idea sits relentlessly in the back of my mind but it does.  Although I consider myself a spiritual person, I am not a religious one and this has always made me wonder why the urge to complete the pilgrimage is so strong within.

Circumstance.  A friend and I were having coffee last week and she suggested I watch a movie called The Way.  Emilio Estevan was involved with the development of the story line and the production of the movie and for this reason I was doubtful that I would watch it any time soon.  I couldn’t remember any movies that he was in that I actually liked much.  Last night I was looking for something to watch and trusting in my friend’s judgement, I found The Way on Netflix and sat down with marginal expectation.  Within the first 5 mins of the movie the line “Dad, you don’t choose a life, you live one” was spoken and I was hooked.

Now, I don’t want to give anything away, for this movie is indeed worth watching.  It is a movie all about circumstance, flow, namelessness, Nature……shall I say…..The Way.

Enjoy and let me know what you think.

Namaste.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

