Skip to content

Hello Mes Chers Amis!

May 19, 2014

What is she up to now, you may ask?  Ahhh… Francais.

Travelling this spring I came to realize how one’s experience is compromised when one does not speak the local language.   It is fine to ‘get by’ speaking English in most places in Europe but for those that can speak the language of the locals, their experiences can’t help but be enhanced.  It is for this reason I have decided to take the bulls by the horns, as it were, and make a concerted effort to learn to speak French.

France is my favourite place to paint.  Well actually, my favourite place to travel, eat, drink wine, explore, gallery hop, shop, you name it.  It is pretty much my favourite place, period.  I didn’t actually fully realize this until my last art show when I was talking to a couple about the place they owned in the south of France.  I was standing there thinking of how lovely that would actually be when out of my mouth blurted….”my body is here, but my heart is there”.  That is when I decided that I needed to do something about my inability to speak the language of the place I was apparently in love with.  So, my son used a groupon and bought me the Rosetta Stone….French edition.

I have been doing quite well with my classes but I do wish I had done this when my memory capacity was young and most of my hard-drive was free of bits and bites.  Being able to read and speak French is going to open my life to possibilities.  There are art books I long to read, histories of my favourite painters written only in French, movies on Netflix in French with English subtitles (being a visual person, this is nothing but a pain.  I miss all the cinematic wonders while fighting my way through the tiny, written word at the bottom of the screen), not to mention the great French music.  My one issue is not having that many people to practise speaking with.  You might think that living in Canada where one of our official languages is French, might give me an advantage but alas, not so.  I have come to realize that French Canadian french is quite different from Parisian french.

One thing of note.  I have noticed that practising my new language and quality painting experience appear to go hand in hand.  Interesting eh….must use the same side of the brain.

Here are some paintings that I have done from previous trips to France so you can see how inspiring it all can be;

 

As I Remember -available

As I Remember

Luna - Paris

Luna – Paris

Hope you enjoy and that these paintings make you want to travel, learn a new language or simply bring back fond memories.

Bon nuit, mes amis 🙂

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunny Livesay permalink
    May 21, 2014 12:18 pm

    Carolynn ! This is absolutely wonderful. We must talk ! When can I call you ??

    Here is a really good way to practice. Get the 24 / 7 French app. You practice vocabulary and hear the words spoken. You must watch my absolutely favorite movies in French….La Gloire de Mon Pere and Le Chateau de Ma Mere. This is an absolutely breathtaking experience written by Marcel Pagnol. It is a true story of the France of another more gentle time. Breathtaking cinematography and sweet presentation. The story is told through a child. It is simply beautiful in French. I have the double book in French.

    You are correct that Canadian French is not Parisian French. You are also correct that it is more difficult to start learning a language late in life. You have to use a word 40 times before it is planted in your brain…..but I am so proud of you to take on my favorite language of my favorite country. France is where my heart is also.

    We have two different people looking at the ranch this week end. I am thinking very positive thoughts that one of them will buy this gorgeous place. I only wish you had seen it.

    Hoping to talk to you soon. Big hugs, Sunny

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. May 21, 2014 6:39 pm

    good luck!

Leave a Reply

