Skip to content

Good Advice

March 25, 2014

Some time ago an artist friend of mine from California wrote a message in her semi-regular news letter.  Her name is Sandy Delehanty and her message was simple…..it never hurts to mix it up a bit.  Now those were not her exact words but close enough.  The message to each of us is to add some ‘spice’ in our lives.  Spice , I have found, brings clarity.  It seems that the investigation of new avenues can bring into focus, that which are your true loves….mine, creating art.   The habit that many of us have of staying with what is comfortable and often a ‘sure thing’ can not only be boring, but serves to stifle our personal growth.  Taking Sandy’s advice, I decided to try something quite different.

A month ago I signed up for a class in mosaics.  I had never, ever done mosaic before but sure have admired the art form.  It took me quite a while to decide on a subject but I finally chose the auspicious salmon.  For us here on the West Coast, the salmon is relevant….spiritually, economically and artfully.  I went to the class not knowing quite what to expect.  I imagined it would be challenging but most new things that one does, are.  This is what was revealed…

1.  Trying new things is a blast…on so many levels.

2.  To every act of creation, there is a flow.  Once in that flow, magic happens.

3.  Stepping out of one’s comfort zone, allows for growth…as an artist and a person.

4.  Opening the window and door can reveal a world of wonder.

My teacher’s name is Connie Glover at cgloverclay@shaw.ca, just in case anyone would like to learn.  My advice giving friend is on the net at sandydelehanty.com and is an amazing watercolour and oil painter and teacher.   You might just want to take her advice and try something new.

Here is my very first mosaic.  I would like to change a few things – maybe the grout colour, maybe more darks in the salmon head and definitely the eye –  but that will be for my next effort….and there will most certainly be a next effort for it was so much fun!!!

 

P1000118

 

 

before the grout

before the grout

 

 

P1290474

 

better light

better light

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunny Livesay permalink
    March 25, 2014 2:17 am

    Bravo! You did a gorgeous mosaic! It is such great fun, you can see why I got hooked on this art form. I am back at the ranch working on the gardens and doing lots of cleaning. Keep up the great work. Hugs, Sunny

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. March 25, 2014 2:44 am

    OMG as they say! Nice to know my little suggestion fueled such a fun departure in your life. Since I wrote that particular newsletter I have received several emails with stories of “new adventures” most of them positive, some hilarious, but gratifying for me to see that my words spurred people to try new things. I am now following my own advice and taking my first photography workshop, and I am taking it in Cuba! I am sure I will have an adventure story to relate when I return. I love reading your blog as it helps me keep in touch with you, I miss you. Sandy

  3. March 25, 2014 5:44 pm

    Nice work! so cool of you to try something new.

Leave a Reply

