Skip to content

Revelation

February 27, 2014

Revelation:  A disclosure; a making public of something hitherto kept hidden and secret…

Morning pages.  These daily pages are the backbone of the course The Artist’s Way.  They can be at the very least, annoying, addictive, spiteful, arduous, insightful, manic but most importantly, revealing.  I have been writing them every single morning (except one when I was very sick) for 8 weeks and this very morning I discovered something central to who I am….something I have hitherto kept hidden, at least from myself.

A quote by Chekov,  in Chapter 4 of the book, had me thinking “If you want to work on your art, work on your life.”  Well, I was pretty sure I had been rather seriously working on my life for the past 20-25 years, so what was it that I was missing?  I was thinking about the people I gravitate to, my friends and wondering if I was missing something they had, that I did not.  I realized that most of my friends are either artists (from many disciplines) or healers.  And then I remembered it!

My last two art shows went very well.  I sold paintings and had a great time visiting with patrons.  On both occasions I had people say to me how peaceful my paintings were to look at, how great they made them feel.  REVEALED…. from this day forward my paintings are going to be painted from the heart with no expectations for shows, sales or accolades.  My mission is going to be to paint what I know; what I know about healing, energy, spirit, science and see where it takes me.

Oh those morning pages….. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. April permalink
    February 27, 2014 6:53 pm

    Good for you. Sometimes it’s the really simple concepts that rock our socks, huh?! That’s usually how it works. Best for the future!!

Leave a Reply

