Skip to content

The Bottom Line

February 13, 2014

“A creative life involves great swathes of attention.  Attention is a way to connect and survive.” (Julia Cameron).

Julia Cameron (author of The Artist’s Way), writes of her grandmother’s more than difficult life, “The truth is, we all knew how she stood it.  She stood it by standing knee-deep in the flow of life and paying close attention.”  Her grandmother had learned, “that the truth of a life really has little to do with its quality.  The quality of life is in proportion, always, to the capacity for delight.  The capacity for delight is the gift of paying attention.”  I ask you, how beautiful are those words?

The moment I read that passage I became privy to the fuel that has fanned the flame of my creative drive.   For as long as I can remember I have been paying attention to the details of a life.  Too much so, I use to think.  Julia’s section on Attention, has made me realize that there is no such thing as ‘paying too much attention’.  Paying attention after all, is what artists thrive on.  Whether it be crafting a painting or describing an exquisite cast shadow or the last ribbon of light spread across the ocean out a window, our’s is a life of noticing.

Unknown to myself at the time, the “Simple Pleasures” blog was an unequivocal acknowledgement of the joy found in the simple act of noticing.  The ‘delight of paying attention’ as Julia so aptly puts it.

The homework I am setting for everyone this day is to pay attention to 10 ‘simple pleasures’ that you might normally let slip by without notice.  Notice how you react to them, how they make you feel.

The Bottom Line….pay attention!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 13, 2014 4:52 pm

    This is a wonderful post and it was written beautifully! I so agree about paying attention, though I sometimes do forget. Since I photograph just about anything I can find, I have become more aware of things in Nature and in life that I had once not “seen”! I will have to buy that book! You have led me to other books such as the “The War of Art”! Thank you for an amazing post and a reminder for everyone!!! Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

Leave a Reply

