Skip to content

Your End Game

September 9, 2013

The title for this blog was going to be Laugh Out Loud but I decided that I needed to save that title for a later blog because the stage/game board, needed to be set.

As ever, I have been contemplating the purpose of being on this earth.  In other words, what’s it all about anyway?  I know that great thinkers have formulated hypotheses for ‘global’ reasons of why we are here, at this time and this place but I am more interested and indeed ponder, the most basic reason of why we/ I am here.  I am thinking that if one only looks at existence on the ‘global’ level, the probability is that we will miss the point.

Art and especially science teach us to look carefully, beyond the obvious, for answers.  We are often reminded not to complicate matters and never read into ‘reality’, that which is not there.  In other words….keep things simple.

If one views their life as a game, game board included,  one has a better chance at keeping things simple as long as one follows some basic rules.    Rule #1:  Although we may beg to differ, everyone’s board is the same and like any game board there are pitfalls, rewards and spaces where there are ‘time outs’ or ‘lose a turn’.  Rule #2:  Everyone rolls the dice and makes their first move.  The first move can  be fundamental to the course of the game but not the desired ‘end game’.   Rule #3:  The winner is the first one to reach their ‘end game’.   I am sure that we will all come up with more rules.  The game is in it’s infancy :).   At this point I would like to add that even though there are players whose game appears compromised at the onset, I believe their ‘end game’ might not differ from yours or mine.

Now, everyone’s ‘end game’ could be different but after much pondering I am inclined to believe we all have the same game closer.   That is, if we play the game to the end and are fully aware of what game is being played, we may just end up at the same spot (which might just be at the very beginning ).  But for sake of the experiment, let’s say people’s ‘end games’ could differ.

I suppose now we need the definition of ‘end game’.  This happens to be a work in progress as well but so far this is what I have got….’End Game’:  A three word or fewer summary, or the point, of your life here on earth.  It would be preferable if this definition was personal and did not involve the ‘global’ network.  By your own response to this definition you will be deciding that on your death bed, when you look back at your life,  what truly mattered.  What one or two words would best describe the goal of your game?  For example, did it truly matter that you were  an amazing artist that sold all of your paintings for huge sums of money?  Did it truly matter that you were an executive in a large corporation, a famous musician, could read faster than anyone else or jump higher or swim farther?  Did it matter that, to you, you found the cure for cancer?  We can get pretty profound here, experience controversy (especially inside ourselves) but what I am asking, is when all is said and done, what are we really after, what is the point, what must we have or do, that no matter our circumstance (and heavens knows there are some dreadful circumstances), we seek for our ‘end game’  ?  Any one of these accomplishments on the surface would be sublime but I am after something deeper, something more basic than first appears.

I have to stop here as I have read that blogs over 500 words are not read and I am already at 662….ooops!  My next blog is going to be about a person who reached the ‘end game’ that I believe we might just be after.

Happy searching and I do look forward to everyone’s thoughts on the ‘game’.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2013 4:24 pm

    This is an interesting post with many ways approach the age-old question of why am I here. I sometimes wonder if there are no true endings, the way there are in books, but rather circles where we experience hardships and happiness and ponder creation amid our goals before returning to where (to use your analogy) we become one with the board game itself.

    About personal goals, perhaps freeing oneself from any end game at all and enjoying the journey as best we can by doing what satisfies is a key. Also, the ideal might be to do work we absolutely love that helps and inspires others. I like what the Dalai Lama said: “Our prime purpose in life is to help others. And if you can’t help them, at least don’t hurt them.”

    Many people do not have the luxury of doing what they love and must work at difficult tasks to help the people that they love.

    • September 9, 2013 5:55 pm

      Great comment! This is exactly the kind of discussion I am hoping for.

      As far as having no true ending, I suppose on a spiritual level there are none but what I am thinking of here is the true ending of when our experience in this life time, comes to and end…..what will have truly mattered?

      Even though life can be difficult, worrisome and full of hardships, what one thing can make all the difference when all is said and done. In other words, how does one approach their own personal situation, their own game, so that when they die they know they have accomplished at least one thing….their end game….think ‘It’s a Beautiful Life’ (clue #1).

  2. September 9, 2013 10:19 pm

    I think/believe we are each here to learn how to create – whatever, whenever. We are, after all, creators from the original source. At some point in some reality we have to learn how to manifest from thought. I’m a firm believer in no accidents, no coincidences. If we believe life is hard, it is. What we focus on expands, good or not so good (a relative term.) There is no absolute truth; there just is what we create. Life is an illusion, our illusion, and everyone’s is different. We are not held to any particular values other than what we deem is right for us. Everyone’s “right” is different. We are always on a journey; the point is to enjoy/learn from the journey. And if you don’t like your journey, change your path. Our thoughts create our reality; it all starts there. Why ultimately are we here? We chose to be for our education/process; how it evolves is simply how we create it. This is pretty basic, but in my opinion, truth usually is. Some folks like it complicated, some simple. End game? You get what you ask for; be selective about that which you ask.

  3. September 9, 2013 10:23 pm

    In the end, what will have really mattered about you? Only you will know. I figure when you’re done with your current path, you start a new one in another reality. Of course, I’m also a believer of alternate simultaneous realties, so in effect, you are co-existing with many aspects of yourself all at once. But this gets rather complicated, so I won’t get into that right now.

    • September 10, 2013 12:19 am

      Yipeee April! You know what you are talking about. What I am after with this concept of the ‘end game’ is really to simplify what you are saying to a word or two and on a cosmic rather than personal (as in our illusionary perception of the way things are) or global level.

      This whole exploration may lead absolutely no where, it may lead right back to the beginning, it may make no sense or it may make all the sense in the world!

      I hope the following blogs will make what I am after clearer to everyone. Maybe I am just doing this to simplify things in my own mind but I have a feeling that this will not be merely a personal revelation but a social one. Most likely this angle that I am taking has been thought of before, as there is likely no original thought, but I believe the context of life as a board game might make it easier to track one’s progress this time around.

      I have had quite a few emails over this post and only time will tell if the path my mind is on has any truth to it or not. It is soooo very exciting.

Leave a Reply

