Skip to content

Always Seeking Tirocinium

March 13, 2013

Tirocinium:  Latin for:  Apprenticeship; first steps in, elements of, an art or accomplishment….

I was having coffee with a friend earlier in the week, brain storming and generally having great fun developing and reworking ideas ….you know, brainstorming.    I made mention to her that some days I am quite bored with what I am working on  and wish that I could break out of the shell I sometimes find myself within.  I also remember commenting on the fact that at pretty much any activity my interest is maintained for a relatively short period, say two years, after which it dramatically wains.  Does this ring any bells?

Through my musings of the last few days I have come to the conclusion that those first few steps towards any accomplishment are that which I seek.  I have come to realize that although reaching a pinnacle of success in any area is grand, it is not what keeps me getting out of bed each and every day. There is an enormous amount of happiness to be had by starting down a new path to almost anything.  When one considers the days  that have passed by,  it is the moments when a new venture was explored that brings excitement, trepidation, love and sheer joy our way.  Consider the first steps a baby takes, the first time you peddled away from your parents, when you learned how to cook, your first love,  when you explored painting for the first few years……..writing, yoga, running….you see where I am going with this?

Comfort and security can be had by staying on a particular path for a long period of time.  However, how does what you are doing and wanting to accomplish suffer for that fact?  As painters we spend the first several years finding our ‘style’ but what after that?  We get known for a particular style and then are type-cast not unlike actors.  Boredom sets in and the brush strokes suffer.

I have come to the conclusion that to stay ‘fresh’, ‘alive’, ‘invigorated’, we would do well to see ourselves as eternal novices.  This does not mean we need to start something new every day to be happy but looking for new ways to do the same thing will keep us on our toes and happy to stick around a while.  Not maintaining the status quo can be a scary thought but oh those rewards…..

Happy painting….or whatever!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 14, 2013 6:01 pm

    I feel you, totally.

Leave a Reply

