Skip to content

A Thought For Today

August 24, 2012
tags:

Well, it is a thought for any day really….

I have been reading an amazing, all be it a challenging book, on and off for the last several months.  The title of the book is “I Am That”…talks with Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj .  The book is a yogi’s way of discussing the root cause(s) of the endless sufferings of the human race.  No where in this book will you find preaching but the statement of the facts as he sees them, “that the roots of sorrow are in the mind and it is the mind that must be freed from its distorting and destructive habits” (Sudhakar S. Dikshit,  editor, Bombay 1981).

I have never been a person who dog-ears pages of interest in books, nor one who underlines passages really.  Not even in my university days.  Well, that has changed.  I chuckle every time I come back to this book’s pages….every page has passages underlined with scripts such as **, NB, double lines in margins and words written such as “WOW!” and “Double WOW!”  I have even dog-eared two pages….one of them, double dog-eared.  Suffice it to say that this book is speaking to me at this time in my life.  Wish it had happened earlier.  Remember those days ticking away that I mentioned in an earlier blog….well, I have fewer now to accomplish my mission.

There is one special passage in the book that simply won’t leave my mind and I wanted to share it with you all today.  The interviewer (whom I picture as a young student but actually have no idea what his age might be, for we are all students) is asking the Maharaj how he might find peace.  The Maharaj asks him “For what do you need peace?” and the student says “To be happy.”  The Maharaj goes on to ask him what makes him unhappy and the student says “I have what I don’t want, and I want what I don’t have.”  The Maharaj’s simple reply is profound….Why don’t you invert it:  want what you have and care not for what you don’t have?”

Simple, ha…doable, yes….the thought for today.  I continue my investigation and will keep you posted.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

