Skip to content

Food For The Creative Soul

August 12, 2012

There are times in one’s life when they are given something, that in the depths of their being, they know it to be a gift of consequence.  This little story involves one such gift.

My son had a parcel delivered to me and had instructed that I wait to open it for a time when I would see him next.  I have been so busy that I had kind of forgotten about the little package.  Today I got word from him that I was to open the gift.  So, I did.

The parcel was a small, cardboard envelop who’s origin was Great Britain.  I had known that it was a book but could not have imagined what type of book it might be….could not have imagined such a gift.  After tearing the strip on the envelop I gently opened the package and proceeded to pull out my present.  The cover on the book is a beautiful yellow ochre with black calligraphy script reading “the Tassajara Bread Book”.  I turn the book over and inside a free-drawn circle is a drawing of a whimsical stone building, rocks, trees and a small bird.  Lovely, I tell myself.  The book is slightly worn and has the appearance of being on the older side of tomorrow but is still in fairly good condition for what it is.  I gently open to the first page and read the title, by Edward Espe Brown, Shambala, London.  I read on.  The next page is the dedication which brings a smile to my face and I am immediately aware that I hold within my hands, a gem.

It is not long before I realize that this little book is filled with poetry, drawings, advice and yes, recipes that are nothing short of exquisite.  Each page is made of natural paper covered with burnt umber script.  Many pages are filled with suggestions and guidance for the creation of breads, cakes, muffins and more, originating  from the loving compilation of recipes made by the monks of Tassajara with the reverence of the Zen tradition.  Who could ask for more than that?

I view bread as food for the creative soul.  I have made bread most of my adult life.  I tried using a bread machine when my family was young but that small experiment was short lived as I sorely missed the act of  kneading and the satisfaction that comes from seeing something through from beginning to end.  This little book stands to fuel that love of process even further.

At the end of the book there is a small explanation of what Tassajara is.  There are hidden joys everywhere one might look.

If any of you are as in love with bread as our family is consider searching for this small gem.  When you think of it the creative mind/soul tends to find comfort in simplest of things, that are close to the earth…..bread making is just one of them….painting is yet another.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

