Skip to content

Full Of Surprises

March 2, 2012

I am having a Dandelion Day!

Remember the picture of Kitty from one of my previous blogs?

Here she is having a Dandelion Day.

Remember the definition of a DDay?

A Dandelion Day is from this day forward, defined as a day: where no holes are barred, where  there are no limiting thoughts, where anything is possible, to throw caution to the wind, that is full speed ahead …..you get the picture…..  While, I am having one of those days.

I have to tell you a little story because it needs to be told….it is important to realise that Dandelion Days are possible….they are there for the making.

For several weeks now, my life has been filled with an inordinate amount of stress.  The kind of stress that is created by the actions of others and that is largely out of ones control.  It is giving me sleepless nights and is playing havoc with my stomach.  Then, yesterday arrived.

At the end of January I entered a Federation of Canadian Artists Landscapes juried show.  I had never done this before but thought it was about time I gave it a try.  I waited several weeks to find out that one of my two submissions had been successful and would be part of the show.  I was thrilled.  The show is to run from February 21- March 9.

Yesterday, I took the journey from where I live  to downtown Vancouver.  It is a lengthy trip of bus and train but one I enjoy….  gives a person time to think.  I was meeting a friend, Christine, who had kindly offered to visit the Federation Gallery where my painting was being shown and take a picture of me beside my painting.  I was looking forward to seeing my painting hanging alongside the works of art of some very respected artists.

Christine and I entered the gallery and began viewing the show.  It did not take us long to realise that my painting was not there!  No where to be found.

There was a lady sitting at a desk, working on her computer and I offered the very simple statement of “Excuse me, but I can’t find my painting.”  The lady answered in a curt manner “Who are you?”  I answered Carolynn Doan to which she answered, in an equally curt manner, “well, it sold a few days ago”.  I was so shocked and excited that I reached over the desk and gave her a ‘high five’.  She smiled a very large smile.  I asked her if she could tell me if the painting had been bought by someone locally or someone from abroad.  She simply replied “no”.  I just couldn’t believe what I had just heard.  Christine and I looked around a bit longer, reviewing the award winners and then said our goodbyes and opened the door.  The lady said “congratulations!”

Now, you have to know my friend Christine.  She is without a doubt one of the most creative and positive people I know.  When we were outside, standing in front of the gallery, she took me by my arms, looked into my eyes and said….  imagine, your painting was bought by someone from a foreign land, who loved it so much that they just had to have it!  It was small enough that they could carry it in their suitcase and so they bought it on the spot!  I love Christine for that.  Still shocked, we walked to one of the best restaurants near the Gallery and I bought her lunch.  I was experiencing a Dandelion Day!….still feeling the affects of that day.

What a Dandelion Day shows you is that if you put yourself ‘out there’, anything is possible.  Any given day can be full of surprises….when you least expect it.

SOLD!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. missy permalink
    March 2, 2012 9:40 pm

    Auntie,
    I love this!!!! I am sitting under a blowdryer at the hair salon and I smiled and giggled the entire story! (I am actually still smiling) I amd so happy for you and I hope for many more dandelion days in the future!
    Hugs,
    M:)

  2. Sabine permalink
    March 2, 2012 11:25 pm

    You so deserve a Dandelion Day! Congratulations. The thing is that Dale always said your artwork needs to be more exposed. He was always thinking about how to get the word out! I guess it’s out. The word is out!!!!!! Love it! Congratulations!

  3. Lori permalink
    March 3, 2012 1:23 pm

    Congratulations! I am so proud of you! I hope there was wine with that lunch! Take care of yourself, my friend!
    Lori

  4. March 4, 2012 4:07 am

    First of all, let me congratulate you on the sale of your painting and second, I congratulate you for this beautiful post! I loved the first Dandelion Day item you posted and I love this one even more! It’s great and I love your writing!!!!Thank you so much for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

