Skip to content

Almost The End…

September 27, 2011
tags:

There are very few things a person does that could be called complete.…Filled up, entire, perfect, with no part or element lacking.  Brought to an end, brought to a state of perfection or fulfilment…..consummate.

I don’t think that I can think of a thing wherein I felt something to be truly “complete”.  Pretty much everything I can think of can or could be re-worked, tweaked, improved upon.  Things in life are simply like that.  A painting is no different.  Even when a painting is signed and hung on the wall, little niggly thoughts creep into the mind….”What if I had tried this?”  , “I wonder what would have happened if…?”   These types of questions can linger whether one is making art, playing a sport or working with your children.  In other words, living a life.

The question then arises, if nothing is actually ever complete, what is the point?  The point is the process. It is the act of doing that brings the rewards….not the end product.   How many times have you heard that one?  Too many times I would venture to say but the statement still remains relevant.

The addicting part of the making of art (yes the creation of art is very much an addiction) lies within the process.  It never ceases to amaze me the number of different ways a subject can be approached and an “almost end” can be reached.  The process or path an artist uses to paint a painting, may appear to be the same but each and every brush stroke contributes to an unique outcome.

Donald's Apples - oil on canvas - 24"x24"

This is the painting of Donald’s Apples – almost complete 🙂  I am quite happy with the outcome but will continue to see things that I might have done to improve upon the image.  I do like the ethereal nature of the piece and wanted to stop the painting process, leaving myself wondering….  This is not a bad place to end it all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 2:13 am

    I really like this article and I think it applies to just about everything we reach for – always it is the journey and not the destination! And as I’ve watched my husband, Denton, paint over the years I would see him so enjoy the process, but eventually would stop! And sometimes he didn’t like the painting. He could see things that he should have done and didn’t, Da Vinci said: “Art is never finished, only abandoned.” That is probably true. There comes a time when you must release and move on. I also noticed that oftentimes when he would be away from the painting that he didn’t like for awhile, that he would see things he liked when it was seen again. Most generally the creator never views the creation with the same eyes that those who simply view the creation with no other participation do! And, perfection is like beauty, always in the eye of the beholder – always relative to the one viewing – always based on individual perception.

    Your painting, “Donald’s Apples”, is beautiful! That comes from me – the observer observing – from my own world!!!

  2. September 28, 2011 3:55 am

    Thanks for posting this comment Sandra. It is so nice to hear other peoples thoughts on things. Also, thanks for your kind thoughts about Donald’s Apples… observed from your world!

Leave a Reply

