Skip to content

The Call Realized

July 1, 2011

Leaving the Scene - Oil - Framed $425.00

Ok, ok, so I did end up enjoying the whole process.  I wanted to let my readers know that my entry into the juried show was a success and that I actually had fun!!

The last time I wrote (sorry that this was such a long time ago but life got in the way) I was driving back from the gallery/museum thinking of those that did not make it into this show and sale.  After getting out of the car I pretty much forgot about the whole thing until a few days before the opening.  When I remembered that the date was approaching I asked a good friend of mine if she would like to come to the opening of the show.  When we arrived at the facility it was really quite quiet.  We circled the room viewing the 128 successful entries, critiquing as we went.  It was a lot of fun to see the different styles and subject matter chosen.

The space for the showing is beautiful, equipped with fine lighting and humidity controls.  It has a divider in the centre  of the space that holds paintings on either side.  My friend and I came around from the back side of the divider and were surprised to see a ROOM FULL of people.  I think there must have been 100-150 people beginning to congregate.  It was exciting to see so many people in attendance.  It was also fun to see people’s reaction to my painting.  I wrote the following caption for the piece as we were asked to do.  It reads ”

This image was painted as a reflection of closure, the passing of time, the passing of a life.  The image came from a photograph taken by my late husband while we were on a painting trip to France in 2007.  He often took pictures of people and in particular, people ‘leaving the scene’.  After losing him I decided to paint a small ‘mini’ series on this subject and this painting is one of that series.  It basically represents departure, any way the viewer wishes to take that fact.
…and right under these words was written Honourable Mention.  I was so surprised as I was not expecting to win one of the awards.  It was even more surprising as the three top awards in my category were of abstract treatments of the subject matter.
All in all it was an enjoyable evening and something that I will do again.  I do encourage all artists out there, regardless of discipline, to go for it!!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. April White permalink
    July 1, 2011 1:51 am

    Good for you! I’m glad your work was recognized and appreciated for what it was. A lot of us are on this ‘outbound’ trek. Not me, yet, but I know a lot of folks who are. Thanks for choosing this subject matter and bringing it to life in a way that impressed so many with the message. Cheering you on!

    • July 1, 2011 5:07 am

      Thank you April for all of the encouragement. This kind of support sure goes a long way in encouraging one to ‘keep on trucking’.

Leave a Reply

