Skip to content

Moving Dirt

May 15, 2011

Pacific Sands Resort, Tofino, BC - sold

Enough with the rain alright, already!!

It seems like it has been raining my whole life.  Don’t get me wrong, I like the rain but after having faced a winter with almost constant rain, even ducks have had enough.

I had a little over a month off, spending quality time with my company/family and am now trying to ease back into my life as I know it.  I have spent the last few days ‘rebooting’ my hard-drive and am finding that the weather on the coast is not co-operating with my plans.

On our one sunny day I was hit with an overload of zeal and proceeded to order 6 yards of dirt.  Yep, 5 yards of soil and one of mushroom manure.  I don’t know what I was thinking!!  My garden needed a top-up and I needed to get back into some sort of shape but 6 yards is an awful lot of dirt.  I am now working on day 5, in the rain and am just now starting to see a diminished pile.

Moving dirt is hard work, heavy work but in an odd sort of way, I am enjoying myself.  Mostly, it is just the crows and myself toughing it out.  They sit on the wire above where I am working and watch and every now and then, fly down to pick up a treat (earthworms I think).  There are very few passers by in such weather.  It is very quiet.  We had fog roll in today….that only happens in November I thought to myself.

Shoveling dirt is very repetitive, very rhythmic.  You actually get in the ‘zone’.  It is a great time for thinking….or not.  I am re-reading The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho and have been contemplating his messages on ones ‘Personal Legend’ while I move the dirt.  Through all of the lifting and scattering I have come to realize that I do believe that I have not, as yet, recognized  my Personal Legend….. that for which I was born to do, born to accomplish.  I have had an amazing life full of love, laughter, adventure and hardship.  I have accomplished many things but none of which has satisfied my longing for soulful peace.  I come close at times…when doing pretty much anything creative, when spending time with my family, in a forest or smack dab in the middle of a prairie field.

My one hope is that before my pile of dirt has completely disappeared I will have found clarity for that which I seek.  If you drive by my house and see the pile still there, you will know that I am still working on it 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 12:34 am

    I always enjoy your writing, your thoughts, your perspective on Life and on your own life! I wonder if shoveling dirt is a bit like shoveling snow in the winter – I kind of get into a “zone” when shoveling. Kind of go into a different space! I guess I shall try to find the book you mentioned! I was not disappointed by The War of Art. Currently I am reading “The Book of Awakening: Having the Life You Want by Bening Present to the Life You Have”. Lots of things to consider. Anyway, I love your writing and I hope you find the clarity that you seek! Thank you for sharing!!!

  2. May 16, 2011 6:46 am

    I hear you on the rain, enough already is right. It finally stopped here after months of it, not normal for this part of central California, the sun came out and I planted the tomatoe plants. That was May 1st. We had some nice weather and the plants started growing. Then last night it started raining, today was hail, lightning, thunder, rain, even snow just up the hill from us. Every year on this weekend we hold the homeowner’s association annual bbq and pool party meeting. First time ever we all showed up in parkas instead of swimming suits!

    About the dirt…what were you thinking? I thought I worked hard to shovel two trailer loads (that’s a trailer the size of a large wheel barrow that attaches to our lawn tractor) of my llama compost into my tomatoe and herb garden area, but nothing compared to the pile you are moving.

    I am off to teach a workshop in Provence on Thursday, I will be posting photos and a journal on my blog http://www.HavePaintsWillTravel.blogspot.com. I wish you were coming with me.

    Take care, Sandy

Leave a Reply

