Skip to content

Happy Belated Earth Day!

April 24, 2011

Birthplace of the Mighty Fraser - Watercolour - sold

Go figure.  I have been thinking about Earth Day for at least two weeks and I missed it’s celebration by one day 😦    Although this may seem like a small transgression, it is very profound.

The United Nations designated April 22 as International Mother Earth Day, in 2009.  However, this day has been celebrated throughout the world (unofficially of course) since 1970.  It is the day when those who appreciate the gifts bestowed upon us by our planet Earth,  through small gestures of appreciation, contribute to her healing.  Although this day is meant to bring awareness to the world at large, that every step we take on this planet fundamentally affects all concerned, it falls short of facilitating the change needed to protect our Mother Earth.

Our family has endeavoured for years to be part of the solution and not the problem and we still have plenty of work to do.  It takes vigilance to make conscious choices in her favour.  It ticks me beyond belief that I missed this day of recognition.

As an artist and naturalist I am forever reaping the benefits of the natural world.  I am humbled daily by the beauty that surrounds me and am often disturbed by our collective disregard for the planet on which we live.  If we did to our own home and belongings what we do to Mother Earth, our sanctuaries would be a pigsty.

This may seem like a rant against humanity but it is really a reminder to myself to be more conscious in all aspects of my life, especially where the earth is concerned.  After all, as I have told my kids for years (and I am quite sure they are sick of hearing me say this), if we cannot breathe the air or drink the water, nothing else really matters.  It will not matter how much money we have, what car we drive, the size of our studios, whether we sell our wares….we will be too sick to care.

I read a quote by Kahlil Gibran yesterday that goes like this “Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the wind longs to play with your hair”.  Beautiful isn’t it?  Let’s strive to keep our planet yearning for our presence and not wishing for our demise.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 7:40 pm

    I am late in reading your wonderful weblog and I do apologize! This article about Earth Day was beautifully written! I also liked your decision to quote Kahlil Gibran! There is not one word in The Prophet that I did not find beautiful and sensitive and so filled with truth! I do very much appreciate your thoughts!!! And the painting above is awesome and I am not surprised that it is SOLD! Thank you for your sharings!

Leave a Reply

