Skip to content

A Real Find

March 17, 2011

Sometimes I pick up and read articles because I am curious about the title reference, sometimes I read because I want to know more about a subject and sometimes I read just to fill in time.

Most often the title of what I am about to read gives a clue into what is to follow but the article that I am writing about today, ‘Digital Pros and Cons’, fooled me.  I thought by reading this article by artist,  Chris Tyrell,  I would be learning about the pros and cons of taking digital images or reproducing art works perhaps.  Instead, I was given a gift.  This gift comes in the form of The Google Art Project:  http://www.googleartproject.com .

Chris writes that “GAP involves some of the western world’s greatest collections.  The Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York), National Gallery London, Palace of Versailles, France, Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam, the Uffizi in Florence, Tate London and the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam are some of the projects partners”.

This site is a must see by all those that love to view art.  Google has used technology to bring us up close and personal with pieces of art that we may never have the chance to see in real life.  The viewer is able to tour the halls of these great galleries and zoom-in on individual pieces of art, to see magnified brush strokes and colour sequences.  I hold my breath when I think about it….breathe Carolynn, breathe.

The site is very user friendly.  Make sure that you click on the ‘learn more’ icon to see how to best take advantage of the site.  There is also a section (youTube video actually) that shows the photographing of the images and the hallways of these great institutions.

There is one cautionary note however…give yourself lots of time!!!  There is so much to see and so much to experience that as Chris says, “you can sink into a vortex of information and imagery”.  Couldn’t have put it better myself.

If anyone finds something that is most outstanding, could they please let the rest of us know.  It could take some time to make it through all of the material presented and we might just miss something in the process.

Happy viewing!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Janelle permalink
    March 18, 2011 11:36 am

    Great blog … AMAZING site!!! Thank you so much for the recommendation. My only problem … how am I going to get any work done today????!!!! xo Jae

Leave a Reply

