Skip to content

Oui ou Non – Better Known as the 50:50 Rule

February 17, 2011

Luna - Paris Cafe

I need to take a short break from thinking so much about ‘a thought’.  It is making my brain tired 🙂  Hope everyone is ok with that.  I’ll get back to it in short order.

Today, I would like to write about handling the stress, resulting from the hopes and fears, that we create in our lives.

I have had to make an inordinate number of decisions lately…. decisions for which I feel I often  lack an adequate skill set.  From these decisions arise an excessive number of hopes and fears….an excessive amount of stress.

There is a great deal of stress placed on each of us, every day, to make decisions concerning all aspects of our lives.  For some, the more choices available, the more difficult and stressful the process becomes.

After spending years at being an A level worry wort, I devised a system with which to handle the stress of making a decision (especially a decision in an area in which I know little). I would like to share this with you.

If we focus on the difficulties in making a decision we will cloud our understanding and the stress levels will rise.  To diminish that focus,  it is important to gather learned support in the area where a decision must be made.  This can be support from your family, friends, gallery owners, financial, legal or otherwise.  Educate yourself. A little knowledge can help in your understanding of the options…help you make a better decision.  After all the facts are in, make your decision and then apply the 50:50 rule.

The 50:50 rule is where you release your hopes and fears and adopt the view of Oui ou Non….it will either work or it won’t.  This is when you recognize that you have done your due diligence, made your decision and release your attachment to a specific outcome.  It is the release valve so to speak.

Quietly telling yourself, ( after a decision has been made) “I apply the 50:50 rule”, allows the magic to begin.  It allows accepting an outcome, whatever it will be, knowing that you have the ability to handle it.  You will have the ability because you have released the hopes and fears around it and your mind is clear.  Clear enough to ‘see’ the next step to take.

You will sleep like a baby!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April White permalink
    February 17, 2011 8:56 pm

    Absolutely true. There are no absolutes in my book; everything is subject to change even when we really think we have the right answer. Right answers are shifty; they can warp into other, better right answers. Always have to make your choices and then give it up to the Universe to stop you if you’re about to fall into the abyss, don’t ‘cha know. And guess what, it will stop you if you’re about to do something completely wrong for yourself. I figure they have the whole game plan; I only have a small card with my part written on it. If it doesn’t fit, they’ll let me know. Works every time.

    • February 17, 2011 10:49 pm

      Thanks for such an insightful comment!
      Here’s hoping for more trust in the “game plan”

  2. February 18, 2011 2:17 am

    Hi Carolynn,
    I will miss your posts, but I think you will be back when you have sorted out what you need to sort out or have rested your brain!! I pondered the last one you wrote on thinking and hadn’t decided what to write. I spent a lot of time reading books that said “thoughts are things” and what you think and focus upon, you give power to, and bring into manifestation. You are what you think – change your thoughts – change your life. Sounds easy, but it’s not. In this post, it also sounds easy. The process of doing your homework is the easy part – the releasing from the attachment of a desired outcome is not so easy. I had a friend tell me that we should live with expectancy because that permits us to be open to whatever comes into our world. Having expectations, however, can and often does lead to disappointment. Oh, I hope you will stay in touch even if you aren’t posting. Also, I loved the painting of the little dog in the chair. I will think more on this subject. You do have a way of triggering me to ponder more! Thank you for sharing the gift of your writing and your deep thoughts.

Leave a Reply

