Skip to content

Sanctuary Found in the Passage of Time

January 11, 2011
tags:

Leaving the Scene IV - Oil - 9" x 12" - $150

The mind can be thought of as the ultimate of sanctuaries. Sometimes this sanctuary can be filled with peace and contentment, a place of refuge and at other times, it is a place of turmoil…a sanctuary non the less.  Either way, our mind’s experience is ours and ours alone.

The definition of sanctuary is ” the holy place, the shrine, any place sanctified and made venerable by tradition, a place of refuge and asylum, a place of retreat, a private,secret place not to be violated or profaned by others.

Worry aside, my mind appears to have two favourite resting points…thoughts surrounding the act of painting or the almost constant playing of a tune.  It can be any tune, any genre.  These past couple of days the ‘revolving’ tune has been one preformed by Roger McGuinn of the Byrds.  It is a tune written by none other than Bob Dylan called My Back Pages.  The part of the tune that plays over and over in my mind is “I was so much older then, I’m younger than that now”.

My investigative self has been trying to figure out why this tune will not leave but I think that I have finally figured it out.  I was meant to discover the sanctuary found in the passage of time.

I was an idealist.  My younger years were spent seeing things in black and white.  The ability to see the relevance of events, the harmony found between experiences and the down right magic that is relinquished with the realization that thoughts are things, was clouded by this youthful idealism.  With the passage of time and living of life, I have come to realize that there is more than one way to see something and many more ways to experience it. This is a comfortable place to be….a retreat of sorts.  The freeing of my mind from the rigid idealism of time past has indeed allowed for youthful exploration and insight.  I was so much older then, I’m younger than that now!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

