Skip to content

Audacity

January 7, 2011

View from Blackie's Spit - Oil

Last evening I attended a reception sponsored by a local business.  The said event was held to promote the local artists that had been chosen to be part of a calendar promotion for the city in which we live and work.  It was at this event that an artist friend and myself learned something profound about who we are with respect to our chosen profession as painters.

The reception was to be a 3 hr event.  We were asked to bring an easel and the painting that had been chosen for the calendar.  My friend and I arrived carrying what we had been instructed to bring.  The remaining artists at the event arrived carrying cards, small prints of their work, originals, books containing reproductions of their work and table covers.  There was something wrong with this picture.  I was mostly content with what I had brought but did ask one of the artists if she had been given a list of things to bring other than the one I had received.  “NO” she said, “but I was not going to come all this way and stay this long and not bring more of my art along”. Good point I thought.  Why had I not thought of that.

After taking the morning to think about the event and how the evening unfolded I have come to realize that I simply lack audacity. The definition of audacity, as the dictionary instructs, can be in “good sense” or in “bad sense”.  The “good sense” definition is;  Daring, careless bravery, high-spirited courage.  The artists that stepped over the boundaries of instruction showed audacity at it’s best.  The one artist that really ‘worked’ the crowd actually sold her painting.

I must admit that I continually struggle with the business of art.  Promoting myself and my work can be compared to having a tooth extracted.  It just doesn’t seem to be apart of who I am.  I absolutely love to paint and enjoy most aspects of teaching but for me,  promotion and sales take the joy out of the job.  I am at a loss to know what to do about this personal downfall and would appreciate any ideas any of you readers might have in this regard.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 5:28 pm

    This is an area that many people in creative fields seem to struggle with, including myself. In my own process of learning music composition, my instructor once posed this concept. The process of creative inspiration extends itself beyond our medium of creation. How can one compose one’s own life? Our relationships, interactions, opportunities, creations all result from choices and actions, quite similar to the choices we make with our art.

    This concept has expanded my view of what art is, including the environments I put myself in. The artistic process, inclusive of the business aspect of networking and promotion, is more easily enjoyed when we see it as one big masterpiece unfolding before us.

    • January 11, 2011 6:22 pm

      Well said Daryn. Your words help each one of us understand that Art represents Life and Life represents Artfulness or a string of creative moments from which brilliance is revealed. Although my intellect understands and accepts where the business of art fits in the grand scheme of things, my heart is less accepting. Something to work towards.

      Thanks Daryn for your insight.

  2. Rob Hewitt permalink
    January 12, 2011 10:57 am

    I think writing a blog like this regularly is a great way to expose people to your art as well as the mind behind the work. It will inevitably lead to good business, and its a great way to work on the business side using your strengths as a creative person. Keep up the great posts!

    • January 12, 2011 6:10 pm

      Thanks for your thoughts Rob.
      Part of me knows what you say to be true. The other part of me finds it difficult to trust how I will get from here to there.

Leave a Reply

