Skip to content

25 Blogs Under My Belt!!

December 6, 2010

It is hard to believe that I actually have 25 posts under my belt!

My niece recently attended a weekend conference for fitness trainers.  One of the info sessions that she attended was on “Blog Your Way to Fitness Business Success”.  She was given a handout with the do’s and don’ts of blogging….interesting stuff.  Seems there are real business reasons why people blog.  They use blogs for education, sharing, marketing, cross promoting, conversation, motivation and ranting.

When I look through my niece’s handout I see that I have been successful in blogging without having had any instruction on the ins and outs of the job.  There is just one thing that my posts are lacking and that is conversation. I am hoping that in the next 25 posts my readers (that’s you guys) will comment on my muses (or ranting as the presenters called it) and get some dialogue going.  Any feedback will be honoured; any questions, comments or ideas welcomed.  I am hoping that the comments to the posts will supply inspiration for further writings.  So, basically I am asking all of you for your help.  What say you?

My muse (or wonder) for today is – Just how valuable is it to have public exposure through donating to charity events, being part of calendars and other fund raisers?  There are at least two ways this question can be answered;  from a purely philanthropic ground or from a marketing perspective.

Thus far my reason for giving my paintings has been largely philanthropic but having been thrust into a situation where my art making is now my life support I am having to alter some of the reasons why I give.  I am not fond of my new reasons.  I liked giving paintings for auctions, for instance, because I knew it was a good way for charities to make some much needed cash and a painting was a way that I could give back.  Now, I not only have to be careful how many paintings I ‘give’ away, I also have to be careful to whom I give.

Not having a degree in marketing makes it more difficult to read which events I should attend and to which I should donate.  I do not know without feedback which events have given exposure that will bring collectors to my door.  If anyone has any thoughts on this it would be greatly appreciated.  The comments are welcomed from artists and non artists alike.

My conscience must still support fundraisers for cancer, women and children and education regardless of whether the exposure at these events bring new clients or not.  This will not change but there are many, many others that ask for donations for their cause.  What guidelines does one set for gifting?

Please feel free to comment on this or any other of my blogs as I would love to get a dialogue going. Also, if you would like to receive notice of the post as soon as it is written, please feel free to sign up at the right of this post.

As the New Year draws closer,  thoughts about how I would like my artistic career and my life to develop are entering my mind.  I wonder what everyone else is thinking….

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 2:47 am

    Hi Carolynn,

    Sandra Lund commented on your status.

    Sandra wrote:
    “Carolynn, Congratulations!
    I love reading your thoughts and insights. I very much loved the sharing on December 1 about “gaps”. I personally love paintings that have a lot of negative space in them. A lot of viewers are uncomfortable if a canvas is not filled. Keep writing. You are gifted both as a painter and as a writer.”

    • December 6, 2010 2:48 am

      Thanks a lot for reading Sandra! I transferred your comment from Facebook. Hope you don’t mind. Let me know if you do.

  2. December 21, 2010 5:24 am

    Ah yes, this is a topic of many discussions with artist friends over the years.

    Like you I make my living from my art and have to be careful how much of my living I give away. And that is the problem right there. Most of the people that ask me for paintings do so because they know I am a painter who’s work is well known in the area so they think it will fetch a good price at the auction they are running. It never occurs to them that they are asking me to give up my income. Probably because many of the artists they ask are hobbiests who create for fun but not for a living, so they have paintings to spare to give away.

    So what to do. Like you I have some favorite charities and when I have a painting that has already been shown several places and has not sold, I put it aside for those charities. But , the more well known I have become the more requests I get. One year I kept track and 29 organisations wanted paintings!

    So, when an organisation calls that is not on my favorites list here is what I do: I point out to them that I make my living selling my paintings so they have just asked me to give away a portion of my annual income to their cause. I explain that I can give a few paintings away and still pay the bills, but this year I have already given my limit. Then I suggest they contact artists who create for fun and not for a liviing, and wish them luck.

    It seems to be working, I don’t get so many requests any more, and the charities that I save work for are always greatful.

    As far as “exposure” only if they remember your name. As far as sales, I can only track 4 sales that happened due to charity auctions. 3 were from the same auction a televised art auction that raises money for our local public television station. Because it is televised the audience is many times larger than a regular charity auction but in the 20 years I have donated to them I can track only 3 sales to that auction. The other sale came from a womens golf turnament and auction for breast cancer, and the lady already new of my work so may have sought me out to buy a painting anyway.

    So my take on it is, as marketing goes it is not very productive to give to charity auctions, but give away what you can to those you care most about because you want to support them. I am interrested to hear what others think….

    • December 27, 2010 11:18 pm

      Great comments Sandy, as always.
      I too would be interested in hearing what others thoughts are on this subject so maybe we will be fortunate enough to hear from a few readers.
      Cheers

Leave a Reply

