Skip to content

What’s in a Name or the Stories Behind the One-A-Day Paintings

October 23, 2010

"Who’s Curious": The first of the one-a-day series. "SOLD"

 

Naming a painting can be an art in itself. Some names come to you even before you start to paint the work. Take for example this painting, which is the first in the one-a-day series that I worked on over this past winter. “Who’s Curious”….that title came to me as soon as I saw her, even before my husband had taken her picture. I had decided to make her the first of the series because she reminded me of that lovely November day when we were out in the country taking frosty, early morning pictures that had a lot of potential for future paintings. This curious, little girl also signified the curiosity that I was feeling about delving into the world of a painting per day.

Normally, my paintings take days to complete because of the glazing or layering technique that I tend to use when painting oil paintings. I was about to engage myself in a style of painting called alla prima, a technique that I had not often used. I was curious how the whole process would work out.

Painting this curious little girl was the beginning of my realization that revisiting memories, capturing feeling/emotion and detaching from outcome can be a powerful motivator for an artist to paint each and every day. Painting this first painting was absolutely exhausting. I think my mind even hurt by the time it was completed. As the days and weeks went by I found I couldn’t wait to be in my studio or in the garden, working on the next painting.

I have decided to use the next few posts to write about the one-a-day experience and comment on the paintings themselves. I learned a lot about myself, the process of painting, the joy found in colour, light and experience. I really want to share that with all of you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 9:05 pm

    Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you ever been running a blog for? you made blogging glance easy. The full look of your website is fantastic, as smartly as the content!

Leave a Reply

