Skip to content

What’s in a Space?

September 27, 2010

In the Beginning

Several of my post themes have revolved around the limitations we place upon our collective abilities to ‘let loose’ and create.  This post will continue on that theme.

I have noticed over the years that many people lose their desire to create because they feel that the space that they have to work in is inadequate for one reason or another.  I do not want to dispute the fact that there are ideal spaces for each form of art but the fact is that, in the beginning, acquiring that space can often be unrealistic.  This should not stop a person from pursuing their dreams of becoming good at their craft.

In the beginning, I painted in my kitchen.  This is not an ideal place to paint watercolour paintings which was my medium of choice at that time.  This space had many draw-backs; food, being number one on the list, grease, traffic (our entire family loves to be in the kitchen), distraction, dirty dishes…but what it did have was great light!  I was so drawn to painting that I guess I disregarded all those things that made it a less than ideal place to paint and rather focused on the act of painting.  I did ‘out grow’ my kitchen studio and that was when we decided to move to an house that had a great studio space.  I now have my own space that can be filled with sound, or silent, cluttered or tidy and can handle any medium that I feel like working on at the time….I am in love.

I suppose what I am getting at is that I hope that my students and all others that wish to begin an artistic adventure, erase from their minds that they cannot take up ‘painting’ because they don’t have the room.  Begin by creating a small space where you can work and work some more and you may be quite surprised at where that leads.

When you are able to expand your space consider your needs…lighting and ventilation (windows that open) might be most important but making your space comfortable to work in, feel like home, is also very key.  Begin to surround yourself with your books, with music, with props or collections that you might use in your art.  The development of a studio space is ongoing and exciting but most of all ever changing.   Changing right along with you.  It is a fluid space and that is the way it is meant to be.  Having a fluid working space is not only healthy for the artist but is also exciting for students and patrons.  People simply want to hang out in a space that is not stagnant, that is refreshing….full of promise.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

