Skip to content

Inaugural Posting – Musings of a painter

August 6, 2010

Welcome readers to my first blog posting!

Writing is a new experience for me…I paint, I don’t often get the chance to write.  I have decided however, that painters have things to say.   This blog will hopefully allow me to have my say.  I hope that anyone who wishes to respond will feel free to do so and that this dialogue will help to solidify our collective, creative urges within.  I do need to stress that  I am a painter, not a writer, and would appreciate that any spelling, grammar or structural errors that you might find within  the writings be ignored.

Probably the first point of order is a quick explanation to my choice in naming the blog.

The Tao of Art…   Tao loosely translated means the ‘way’, ‘path’, or ‘route’.  I once read that the Tao is often used as a philosophy to signify the fundamental or true nature of the world.  It is believed that the Tao precedes and encompasses the universe,  that the named (all observable objects) reside within the nameless.  The Tao can never be adequately expressed in words but it can be known and its principles can be followed.  There is no controlling or understanding the Tao.  I am a newbie when it comes to this philosophy and its principles but I can see , even within this loose translation, the significance of this ‘way’ with respect to the creative process.

As a painter, I have experienced glimmers of this ‘way’ within small strokes of my brush, while painting in my garden, a forest or by the sea.  I have seen it within artists I have met and teachers I have had.  It is quite exciting to think that the profession I have chosen enables me to experience these glimmers and to in turn, pass them on to my own students.  Painting is a process, as is life and  I hope in the upcoming postings to explore these processes from my prospective as an artist and an investigative, curious, human being.

Look for my next blog titled “In Defence of the Jigsaw Puzzle”

ps  I tried to figure out how to attach the title of the image in this posting to no avail.  The title of the piece is “The Spirit of the Rainforest”.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunny permalink
    August 6, 2010 2:52 pm

    Hi Carolyn
    Outstanding! What a good beginning! I look forard to seeing more. I am at Curts in CA and don’t like his computer but will write more later.
    Loved the painting….
    Sunny

  2. Joan permalink
    August 6, 2010 3:23 pm

    Hey Carolyn ya got me already…you know “you had me at hello!”
    Was down at the roses at 6..30 this morning and again I find a lot of them TORN off….So the”way” brought them here and now they have gone the way of the WAY go figure!!!!!

    What a wonderful start to your blog!! Congratulations dear lady.
    I love you.

  3. sabine permalink
    August 6, 2010 6:27 pm

    Way to go, Carolynn! That is fabulous. You are not only a painter but also a writer. I am so much looking forward to continue my classes with you. Your writing is as fabulous as your painting – both like poetry. You can be so proud of you. Congratulations!

    Big hugs,

    Sabine

Leave a Reply

